Find me at



Author Facebook:

The World of the IX Series: (Link in sidebar)
A Reaper in Hell: (Link in sidebar)

Saturday, February 8, 2014

Hugo Awards

As some of you may be aware, the Hugo Awards are upon us once more.

What are the Hugo’s?

The Hugo Awards are a set of awards given annually for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year. The awards are named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of the pioneering science fiction magazine Amazing Stories, and were officially named the Science Fiction Achievement Awards until 1992. Organized and overseen by the World Science Fiction Society, the awards are given each year at the annual World Science Fiction Convention as the central focus of the event. They were first given in 1953, at the 11th World Science Fiction Convention, and have been awarded every year since 1955. Over the years that the award has been given, the categories presented have changed; currently Hugo Awards are given in more than a dozen categories, and include both written and dramatic works of various types.

Now, one of the three main categories of the Hugo Awards is specifically for serial publications, for example, Best Fanzine, where the Award is given for the entire run of that publication in the year of eligibility, not for a single issue.

This is good news!
As many of you will be aware, Amazing Stories, the brainchild of Hugo Gernsback himself has returned.

First launched in April 1926, it was the first magazine devoted solely to science fiction. Amazing Stories was published – with some interruptions – for almost eighty years, changing hands on a number of occasions until March 2005, when the publication was sadly suspended.

That was a truly sad time for lovers of science fiction. I’d grown up with the magazine, and was very sorry to see it go. However, application for the trademarks was made in 2008 and granted to Steve Davidson in September 2011.

Publication of Amazing Stories then resumed in July, 2012 with the first of two 'relaunch prelaunch' issues (Volume 0) (July & August), featuring reprinted and excerpted fiction, new and reprinted non-fiction articles, art galleries and interviews, including works by Robert Silverberg, Barry Malzberg, Patrick L. Price and David A. Hardy.

Amazing Stories resumed regular publication as a professional magazine in 2013

Yes! The world’s oldest SF Magazine has returned, and is now eligible for nomination.

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if everyone showed their support for this icon of the industry by ensuring Hugo Gernsback’s baby – and Steve Davidson’s hard Work – received the recognition they deserved?

So, as the voting season progresses, spread the word. Highlight, review, recommend. Tell the world Amazing Stories is back, and hopefully by this time next year, the best SF fanzine you can find will once again be graced with an award that would make Hugo proud.

For further information, follow these links:



  1. There is no best professional magazine category for the Hugos. If Amazing Stories is going to win any honors, it would go to the editor--short form. Am I correct in assuming that is Steve Davidson?

    1. Yes - that's correct -
      (Apologies for the delay in answering) - Been away for a few days.

    2. I think Amazing Stories may try for the Fanzine category :)